To help support the city’s efforts to contain the spread of COVID-19, New-York Historical is temporarily closed to the public until it is safe to reopen. More details on our Visit page.

Why Isn't South Brooklyn in Southern Brooklyn?

Kings County was once divided into six towns: Bushwick, Flatbush, Flatlands, New Utrecht, Gravesend and Brooklyn. The Town of Brooklyn included a similarly named village; its southern end was called "South Brooklyn." The Village of Brooklyn became a city and eventually annexed the county towns, pushing its southern border to Coney Island and leaving South Brooklyn far to the north.

Video embed code: 
Creative: Tronvig Group